aadesh s

In its 46th edition, the International Film Festival of India (IFFI) will be  paying homage to Dadasaheb Phalke Award winners director K. Balachander and producer D. Ramanaidu and legendary Indian film personalities including illustrious music composers Ravindra Jain, Aadesh Shrivastava; popular actors  Deven Verma, Manorama and Indra Bania; producer Eddida Nageshwar Rao; music composer M.S. Vishwanathan; film directors Nirad Mohapatra from (Odissa) and Bidyut Chakravarty (Assam), in a special Homage section. The homage section pays tribute to the noted film personalities who passed away in the last year. The presence of those who are gone can be profoundly felt when their most memorable films are screened for the ones who long for just another sight. Ardent fans and families embrace the beloved master’s artistry yet again at IFFI 2015.

The ace music composer Ravindra Jain (28th February 1944 – 9th October 2015) came to Bombay in 1970 to enter the world of Hindi cinema. He got his first chance to compose music for N. N. Sippy’s Silsila Hai Pyar Ka in 1972, which unfortunately did not complete. Kaanch and Heera was the first film to establish him. After getting huge success with films like Geet Gaata Chal, Tapasaya, Ankhiyon Ke Jharokhon Se, Chit Chor etc., he became the music director for Rajshri Productions.  Besides composing music, he also wrote songs, gave live performances and participated in stage shows. The 1991 film Henna, which has the melodious tracks composed by Ravindra Jain would be screened in IFFI 2015.


Aadesh Shrivastava (4th September 1966 – 5th September 2015) was a composer and singer who composed music for over a hundred Hindi films. He gained a foothold in the industry by playing drums for well-known music directors and assisted Laxmikant-Pyarelal for almost a decade before taking on the mantle of being a professional composer. He was a judge on the musical talent hunt show Sa Re Ga Ma Pa in 2005 and 2009. Deven Varma (23rd October 1937 – 2nd December 2014) was an Indian film and television actor, particularly known for his comic roles, with directors like Basu Chatterji, Hrishikesh Mukherjee and Gulzar. He was the recipient of the Filmfare Best Comedian Award for Chori Mera Kaam, Chor ke Ghar Chor and Angoor, the last of which was directed by Gulzar and is still considered one of Bollywood’s best comedies. IFFI 2015 would screen his film popular comedy film Khatta Meetha (1978).


Tamil, Telugu, Kannada and Hindi director, K. Balachander (9th July 1930 – 23rd December 2014) worked in Tamil theatre as a playwright and director before moving to cinema as a scenarist for the MGR film Daivathai. Major films include Major Chandrakant, Bhama Vijayam, Avargal and his first Hindi film; the super hit Ek Duje Ke Liye. His production company produced Mani Rathnam’s Roja. He was credited with creating a number of Tamil stars including Kamal Hassan and Rajnikanth. The film Maro Charithra (1978) directed by K. Balachander will be screened at IFFI 2015. The film is also part of homage to the legendary music composer, M.S. Viswanathan (24 June 1928 – 14 July 2015) who composed the music for the film. He gave melodious compositions in various Tamil songs during the period of 1960s to 1970s.


Daggubati Ramanaidu (6th June 1936 – 18th February 2015) was a veteran Telugu film producer who has also produced movies in languages such as Hindi, Tamil, Malayalam, Kannada, Bengali, etc. Considered to be a pioneer of the Telugu film industry, he produced his first Telugu film Anuragam in 1963, followed by Ramudu Bheemudu starring N.T. Rama Rao in 1964. The 2001 film Preminchu produced by D. Ramanaidu will be screened at IFFI 2015. Renowned producer of Telugu cinema, E Nageswara Rao  (24 April 1934 – 4 October 2015) started his career as a theatre artiste, film actor and dubbing artiste and later turned into a film producer by launching Poornodaya Movie Creations. His 1979 film Sankarabharnam (The Jewel of Shiva) will be showcased in the film festival in Goa. Noted Odia film director Nirad Mohapatra’s (12th November 1947 – 19th February 2015) debut feature film, Maya Miriga (1984), was adjudged the second Best National Film in 1984, Indian Panorama. It also received the Special Jury Award at the Hawaii Film Festival, USA, and was selected for the ‘Critics Week’ at Cannes and the Locarno Film Festival, amongst others. Maya Miriga would be screened in IFFI 2015.

Manorama (26th  May 1943 – 10th October 2015), fondly called ‘acchi’, was a veteran Tamil actress who acted in more than 1500 films, 1000 stage performances, and a few television serials. She held a Guinness World Record for acting in the most number of films and in 2002 she was awarded the Padma Shri. Apoorva Sagodharargal, in which she worked with Kamal Hassan, will be screened, as homage to her.

For veteran radio, television and film actor Indra Bania (24th December 1942 – 25th March 2015) his filmHALODHIYA CHORAYE BAODHAN KHAI will be screened which also won him National Award for Best Actor.

Bidyut Chakravarty (14th January 1960– 14th April 2015), a veteran theatre, film, radio and television director and actor; he started his career as a child artiste, and went on to act in a number of critically acclaimed as well as commercially successful films. In 1996, he directed his first feature film, Rag-Birag, which won three National Awards. Dwaar, his last film would be screened as homage to him.

Organized by the Directorate of Film Festivals, the film festival would pay a cinematic tribute to the departed souls during the 46th edition of IFFI to be held from November 20 to 30 2015.